Home > Techniques, Tools > Best fish scaler EVER!

Best fish scaler EVER!

Necessity is indeed the mother of invention.

I wound up with a giant hog’s head snapper toward the end of last farmer’s market season, and given the embarrassment of food riches we had at the time, I vacuum sealed it and put it into the deep freeze.  When I pulled it out to use it this weekend, I realized it had not been scaled.  I looked around in vain for my fish scaler, because this fish was covered in big, tough, gnarly scales.  And the it hit me – use a pot scrubber.

Well, fishing gear companies should consider rebranding the lowly pot scrubber as a scaler.  It worked better than any scaler I’ve ever owned or used.

Behold the pot scrubber, aka fish scaler

Pot scrubber, er, fish scaler, in action. Best I've ever used!

Categories: Techniques, Tools Tags: ,
  1. Andy Hethcote
    February 1, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Nice workaround Jim. Amazing what you “make work” when you really have to!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

